Patagonia says DON’T BUY NEW

Patagonia, captured by Flickr user Yuge

That’s right, Patagonia doesn’t want you to buy new clothing: They’ve partnered with another prominent reuse program to create the Common Threads Initiative, which opens up an online marketplace where members purchase used Patagonia products. As MFTA recipients know, reusing helps “eliminate waste, reduces waste disposal costs, and conserves energy and materials.”

Before taking advantage of the marketplace, users must take this noble pledge:

I pledge to buy only what I need. I pledge to repair items when they are broken. I pledge to use what I have, sell what I don’t need, and buy used when I can. I pledge to keep my stuff out of landfills. Together we will reimagine a planet where we take only what nature can replace.

Bravo Patagonia and eBay! Go out and buy a used, recycled fleece!

Image via Flickr user Yuge licensed under Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 2.0 Generic (CC BY-NC-SA 2.0)

[Via Outside magazine’s The Outside Blog]

This entry was posted in News and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

